Erotic Romance in Australia

Leave a comment

04/04/2012 by Basia Rose

So, I haven’t yet read the rest of the series, but when I found out Joey W. Hill had a book set in the Australian Outback I snapped it up.

I’m not finished yet, but wow does this woman have a way with words! I’m also very happy she’s one of those authors who bothers to do her research and consult real Australians for help with the culture and the dialogue.

Apparently Jess Dee’s Three of a Kind ménage series is also set in Australia. I plan to buy them when my new credit card arrives.

         

The erotic romance market is very US-focused. It makes sense, as all the publishers seem to be there. But then it also doesn’t make sense, because so, so many of the readers – and even writers – are not American. Even when books take place elsewhere, with a non-American hero, I have trouble remembering many books where the heroine wasn’t American through and through.

Don’t get me wrong, I adore books with American heroines (in fact, there was a time when I seemed to prefer them!). However, it would be nice if occasionally the rest of us were given a heroine whose culture and nationality we could identify with too.

I honestly believe readers are more adventurous than publishers believe. I’d love to see more books with Australian settings. Of course, I’m picky though, so you have to get the facts correct!

Leave a Reply

