Book Watch – Colters’ Promise

Leave a comment

31/05/2012 by Basia Rose

I blogged about this before, but now it’s less than a week before Maya Banks’ next Colter family book comes out, and I’m completely undecided about reading it. (Which means I’ll end up buying and reading it anyway!)

I know I’ll be in for an easy-to-read story about likeable people. I know I’ll spend an abnormal amount of time admiring the cover. And – while wimpy – Lily is actually my favourite female character in the series.

The problem is that it looks like it’s going to be all warm fuzzies (set at Christmastime, no less) and (from what I can gather from the blurb) pregnant ladies.

Of course this scenario appeals to heaps of people. Most women love it when their fictional couples (or foursomes!) start reproducing. I know I’m in the minority, but – though I try – I always enjoy fictional relationships more where the focus is on the ma-e-n and woman involved, and nobody else.

To me, when it happens in BDSM books it’s like, “Well damn. I’ve just done this amazing rope tie on my wife – it took an hour – and now baby Bella Madison is awake and wanting a feed. So I’ll just cut the old cheese down and go and put the football on.”

Yeah, fantasy-killer there.

Or, in the case of the Colters, it’s all about ménage. Maybe one of the husbands can leave the party on the marital bed, and tend to the baby while the others have their fun. I might be on board with that scenario… maybe…

On the plus side, Colters’ Promise has one of my favourite covers of 2012. Which means I’m going to be wanting a paperback copy of it.

Blurb:

An all-new chapter in an extra ordinary romance
Return to the captivating storytelling of New York Times bestselling author Maya Banks, and her stirring saga of three brothers and one indomitable woman–of wounded hearts, family, and forgiveness…
When it came to overcoming the odds of a tragic past, Lily was determined to move on. The three Colter brothers helped her do it. They taught her new ways to love, new dreams to share, and offered her a new life that she never thought possible.   Now is a time for celebration, and what better way than with a long-awaited family reunion, a homecoming that will bring together the entire Colter family and a few surprises no one anticipated.
But first, there’s still something from Lily’s past she still needs to reconcile–even when all the while she is holding close to her heart a newfound secret that will change her future, forever enrich the Colter legacy, and make every promise come true.

Leave a Reply

