I Joined FetLife – AGAIN!

2

30/06/2012 by Basia Rose

Is anyone on FetLife?

Last night (it was after midnight, actually, so this morning) I signed up for the site for the second time. It’s basically Facebook for kinksters of all kinds.

In my defence, there were three things working against me yesterday.

Firstly, I am sick, and taking tablets with codeine in them – and codeine completely zonks me out. I wasn’t in a normal state when I hit that Join button!

Secondly, I spent yesterday afternoon at a pub drinking champagne (hey it was Friday!).

Thirdly, I spent last night at a fancy restaurant, drinking Pinot Grigio (hey again – it was for a special occasion!).

That the codeine didn’t go well with the alcohol – I have nothing to say in my defence except that it was a special day for a few people, and abstaining would have been rude!

So when I got home, I signed up for the site once again.

I found this ridiculous “funny” mention of it while Googling for the image above.

It begins with:

OK, so we’re moving away from mostly harmless obsessions and well into creepy territory here. FetLife is a site for people who share the same sexual fetishes to get together to talk, meet, and do unspeakable things to each other.

Despite the oh so “funny” description above, it really is a great place if you’re even mildly interested in anything kinky. The people are (mostly) great. There’s a lot of information. There’s a group for anything and everything you could think of. It’s a good way to waste time. You can find pictures of fetishes so far out of your comfort zone you’re going to want to erase your memory afterward!

The reason I closed my account before was because I was being overwhelmed. I made the mistake of identifying as a sub, and apparently there’re so many unattached Doms out there. I’m not looking for a relationship, or play, with anybody. I also got sick of some of the pissing contests: there’re heaps of people in BDSM who want to out-Dom or out-sub each other.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about joining up again for a while – a fresh start. I guess it took strong painkillers and white wine to push me over the edge and make me do it.

So if anybody’s over there and wants a new friend…

I’m nice and easy to find – just my name!

2 thoughts on “I Joined FetLife – AGAIN!

  1. Cara Bristol says:

    I’ve been curious about FetLife, but have been hesitant to join, a little fearful of what I’d find! Maybe someday after I’ve had a little chardonnay, I’ll look into it.

    • Basia Rose says:

      The chardonnay will help!
      The site can be a bit of an eye-opener (there’re very few people holding anything back!), but once you find a group of people with similar interests, it can be great.

Leave a Reply

