Ménage Monday – Lost in Bliss (Nights in Bliss, Colorado #4) by Sophie Oak

Leave a comment

16/07/2012 by Basia Rose

Laura Niles left her past behind. She fled Washington, DC, with her career in ruins and her love life decimated. In her desperate flight, she found a home in Bliss, Colorado. For five years, Rafe Kincaid and Cameron Briggs have searched for the only woman they’ve ever loved. The FBI agents couldn’t share her before, and it tore them apart. Now they have tracked her down, and they want answers. Why did she run? Why did she hide? Why are there so many naked people in Bliss? Laura is shocked when her former loves show up in her new home. And when they bring the full force of the FBI with them, Laura knows Bliss is in for a rough ride, because a killer has been watching and waiting for a second chance. And so have Rafe and Cam.

The cover of this book has been gracing the cover of my Three is Not a Crowd board on Pinterest for almost as long as the board has existed. And I felt stupid having a book cover on my board when I hadn’t even read the book!

So I read it. (Also, I liked the blurb, and have read this author before!)

The thing I liked best about this one was that Sophie Oak found a way for this ménage relationship to come about that I actually believed. It wasn’t another case of, “My buddy and I have been scouring the Earth for a decade to find the one woman to complete us. We intend to share a woman, even though we have no reason for it.” (Which is the standard backstory given to men in ménage romances!) The three in Lost in Bliss never meant to fall into this situation, but they did all the same, and now they have to work out the kinks. (Kinks. Ha!)

I also liked the fact Cameron and Rafe had genuine concerns about the type of relationship they were getting themselves into. Including – yes – what happens if we rub manroots during our threesomes?

I read a review (or two) that complained this book didn’t involve the town members enough.

Now – after finishing it – all I can say is:

Because. Folks, the town members have practically taken over the story. They’re in almost every scene. They are so involved in the plot I felt like I should have read the preceding books to figure out who all these crazy people were, and whose baby was whose, and all the rest. I did read the first one in the series a long time ago, but there have been dozens of books since then, and I didn’t keep a character chart! I can’t see how someone who follows this series could be disappointed in the level of involvement of past characters. I really think Sophie Oak fans will be happy about that.

Reviews are supposed to be opinions, and we’re supposed to respect differing opinions, but I can tell you for a fact: don’t listen to the reviewers who claim otherwise. Coz they’re wrong!

The book’s light-relief to counter the serial killer plot comes in two types. Firstly, there were some lines that put a big smile on my face. The rest of the humour came by way of childbirth and breastfeeding jokes, which I can’t claim to enjoy.

But keep in mind that I am the kind of woman who would almost rather face a room of Christian Grey fangirls than produce offspring, so if I don’t like “parenting humour” it’s no reflection of any particular writer’s skills!

With so many ménage books being cranked out – many with near-identical packaging – it can be difficult to know what to choose.

Sophie Oak has made a name for herself for a reason.

Leave a Reply

