Dominant, not Dominate!!

8

28/07/2012 by Basia Rose

You can be a Dominant. Not a Dominate.

Lots of people get it wrong – not everyone – but some days it seems like it is everyone!

Is it really so hard to understand the difference between being a Dominant, and being the one who Dominates?! So many book reviews confuse the terms, which I would blame on the fact BDSM books have become popular within the romance reading community, and people screw up the terminology because it’s unfamiliar to them.

But then I visit FetLife – Facebook for kinksters – and everyone’s doing it over there too!!

I am SO sick of coming across men who call themselves “Dominates”. How can you expect someone to trust you with their body when you don’t even know what you’re called?!

Imagine if submissives went around calling themselves “submits”!!

Surely it’s not that confusing!

Oh, and damn. With the whole my computer crashed drama, and me trying to transfer everything onto my new one (still haven’t finished that!), I never got to the Lovely Blogger thing. I think that ship has sailed now…

8 thoughts on “Dominant, not Dominate!!

  1. So well put! Informative and funny. That is something that drives me bananas too. Nothing more painful than the grammatically incorrect Dominant. I blame the school system. In all seriousness, you are so very right.

    • Basia Rose says:

      Thanks! It tipped me over the edge when I saw yet ANOTHER Fifty Shades review talking about Christian the “Dominate”. I had to say something!

  2. Well put. And no, its never too late to accept a peer’s acknowledgement.

    • Basia Rose says:

      Hmm, I’ll have to get onto that…tomorrow. The Olympics are on in a very unfortunate time zone for me, and I seem to be watching a lot of it!

  3. Well said, Basia! I absolutely love reading your blog posts.

  4. Cara Bristol says:

    Amusing. I got over the shock a long time ago of finding out that not everyone can spell well.

Leave a Reply

