Just Read: Under Order by Sadey Quinn

6

24/08/2012 by Basia Rose

 

Everyone remember you can still pick this book up for free for a couple more days!

I am an idiot, and halfway through reading Under Order I decided it’d be a great idea to check out some reviews. And – as I discovered after somehow skipping over the spoiler warning – the #1 review on Amazon is spoilerific.

Some things happen in this book that will really challenge your idea of “Happily Ever After”. I can’t believe I killed the surprise for myself. Sigh.

The other day I read a book review by erotica author Annabel Joseph, and she said something that I found to be very true (and that has been bugging me). In too many books like this the sub gets everything she wants, all the time.

Sadey Quinn’s writing isn’t like that, and that’s what I loved best about this book. The Dom really does have the control. Sure, he cares about his sub, but he’s not going to do whatever his sub (or slave in this instance) wants if she begs nicely enough.

I suppose that’s part of the reason BDSM is popular with romance readers these days: because in the romanticised version, there might be a couple of spankings, but the sub is otherwise always pampered and always treated like a goddess. And NEVER does anything she doesn’t enjoy or want to do.

It kills the power exchange in my eyes.

I’m not into huge extremes in kink, but if there’s no genuine exchange in power then I don’t see the point. So if for no other reason, this is why Quinn’s is worth reading!

6 thoughts on “Just Read: Under Order by Sadey Quinn

  1. Butterfly says:

    I’m not reading this I’m not reading this (hands covering eyes). I am halfway through it!

  2. submizion says:

    Thanks for posting that, I’ve just downloaded it 🙂

  3. Sadey Quinn says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t see this until now. Thanks, Ms. Rose!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

