The Guardian on Kinky Twilight

Leave a comment

30/08/2012 by Basia Rose

The Guardian – one of Britain’s major newspapers, and one I often read online – has taken it upon itself in recent months to give us blow by blow (har, har) accounts of everything related to BDSM. Or, more specifically, anything related to the sparkly version of BDSM, as presented to the sexually-repressed in Fifty Shades of Twilight.

Why they won’t just let this silly fad die its natural death is beyond me, but I did get some enjoyment from checking out some articles last night.

Of course we had the feminist approach, which was actually a decent article until the writer started implying any woman who has (or wants) romance or a permanent relationship or shows an interest in such a relationship with a dominant male is letting down the sisterhood. You know, because of liberal-thinking people in BDSM, women will lose the vote, and contraception will be banned, and ten year old rape victims won’t be allowed to get abortions, but only legitimately raped little girls would get pregnant anyway… uh…

The paper also thinks it’s necessary to give extensive coverage to the upcoming Fifty Shades of Twilight merchandising, including three proposed clothing ranges.

The articles pissed me off, but I did love a lot of the comments below them:

This is my favourite piece. Written by a very intelligent submissive woman, it is basically a very smart Screw You to people (pretty much everyone) who have taken it upon themselves to judge BDSM by that ridiculous book series, and that series alone.

As she says:

And:

And:

Actually, apart from the obligatory bickering about whether feminists are crazy bitches, and a lot of unfortunate joking about how stupid all books targeted at women are (love how the world has made that assumption based on ONE BLOODY BOOK!!), the comments are almost all sane. Out of thousands of comments, I only came across a couple of token fangirls.

Of course, some people have don’t even want to try and get it.

But then there was the comment below, which got me to thinking. I need to do some research and then I’ll get back to it:

I’m having trouble understanding why police would ever raid a BDSM club or party. Especially in a place where prostitution isn’t illegal (like around here), if that’s the direction they’re going in.

I wonder this because about a decade ago, when I was younger (duh!) and mostly naïve about BDSM, a place near me was raided. Nobody was arrested, and no charges were laid. At the time it freaked me out because I’d been offered a job there.

I guess I’ll go digging through the online newspaper archives for more information. Yes, the thing made the front pages – as things about “freaks” tend to do.

I did find this though.

Leave a Reply

