Just Read: Body Politics by Cara Bristol

4

19/01/2013 by Basia Rose

Body Politics by Cara Bristol

Feminist Stephanie Gordon knows the instant she meets blind date Mark DeLuca it’s not going to work. Sure the deputy chief of police is criminally sexy, but he’s arrogant, domineering and sexist. Thank goodness after the evening ends, she’ll never have to see him again.

A member of the Rod and Cane Society, an organisation of men who spank, Mark DeLuca is attracted to Stephanie like a paddle to a well-rounded ass. He sees beneath the shield of feminist militancy to the soft, sensitive woman she tries to hide. When she storms away in a snit, the chase is on. Can a Dom convince a diehard feminist her true strength lies in submission?

No matter how many times I look at the cover, I still think of this book by the name: The Feminist and the Dom!

Okay, I do this all the time, but I have to say it again: Loose Id has the world’s best book covers. I am completely in love with the cover of Body Politics. His hand – there’s something about it that makes me happy!

This is the third book in Cara Bristol’s Rod and Cane Domestic Discipline series, but I’m pretty sure you could read this one on its own without any problems. The author writes the kind of DD I enjoy reading about: there’s some kink in there, but the discipline is there too.

I wondered how the subject of feminism would be tackled here, because I can be touchy when people say negative things about it. I figure that if you’re so against feminism, you should hand back your right to vote, stop complaining about rape and start asking to be paid less than your male workmates.

So I was happy to see that the compromise Stephanie had to come to in order to thrive in a DD relationship did not mean sacrificing her values.

I really appreciated that.

I also really liked the way the discipline was handled in this one. Things went beyond good old spanking, and though we only saw Mark and Stephanie in the early stages of their relationship, I thought we were exposed to the dominant-submissive dynamics between them well.

Sometimes you read a few duds in a row, so and I was really happy to pick up Body Politics and just dive into a world I enjoyed.

4 thoughts on “Just Read: Body Politics by Cara Bristol

  1. Always love your reviews Basia, and always love Cara’s writing! Looking forward to reading this.

  2. Cara Bristol says:

    Thank you, Basia. So glad you enjoyed Body Politics.

    Loose Id does do fabulous covers, and the same artist — April Martinez — has done the covers for all my Loose Id books, including the Rod and and Cane series. I agree with you about feminism. So many women accept all the rights feminists fought to get them, but then turn around and put it down.

    In every relationship, there is compromise and negotiation, and that’s what I tried to show in Body Politics.

    • Basia Rose says:

      It’s especially annoying to me how many people under 25 (and how many celebrities under 25) are always talking about how much they hate feminism. I don’t know how they think they can live their lives the way they do without it!

Leave a Reply

