Book Watch: Battered Into Submission: The Tragedy Of Wife Abuse In The Christian Home

12

03/07/2013 by Basia Rose

Jim and Phyllis Alsdurf speculate on the question of wife abuse in Christian homes and hint at the influence of cultural and religious values that could explain their theories.

Battered Into Submission The Tragedy Of Wife Abuse In The Christian Home

“Whhaaat?” you ask.

After the Spanking for Jesus drama in the mainstream media over the past couple of weeks, this book has been mentioned multiple times. Yes, it’s old (1989). Yes, I’m willing to bet it doesn’t have many good things to say about spanking.

But it’s also a book about spanking as abuse, as a means to control women in the name of religion. I’m interested to see what it has to say. As with most relatively sane people, I’m no fan of people doing bad things because the Bible says it’s okay.

So I’ll read and see…

12 thoughts on “Book Watch: Battered Into Submission: The Tragedy Of Wife Abuse In The Christian Home

  1. This is all to common, most of the time it is passed down from generation to generation. The sad part is women do not know any different seeing how their mothers were treated.

  2. Reblogged this on thekinkyworldofvile and commented:
    So much abuse very nice read

  3. gemini says:

    Seems like an interesting read, but very different to the willing and erotic submission our fellow bloggers generally read and write about here. I will be taking a look at it. Thank you .

    • I posted a blog sometime ago. If A Bitch Will Lay On Her Back.
      Women in general give so much, most even give up freedom , while not being in the lifestyle, the percentage is very high of those who are abused be it verbal , mental, or physical. Lets talk about Physical a little. A man beats his wife or Gf. Then hours later he expects her to lay and spread. What the fuck is he thinking.
      The truth is the male might as well be raping the one he just beat. The lifestyle in which you are speaking DD has been around for a very long time. Those men have not a clue of what they truly have or even more so what they could have at the snap of a finger.
      I have stated before those in control and those who are controlling.
      Wow it just floors me.

      • Basia Rose says:

        The thing that makes this kind of spanking different to my mind is that there’s always a belief that a woman is less competent just because of her gender. I’ve read so many blogs where the men try to justify it, but I still can’t see it the way they do.
        In BDSM, a woman OR man can be submissive, and it has nothing to do with women being unable to control themselves without a man hitting them to keep them in line!

    • Basia Rose says:

      Definitely nothing to do with erotic spanking or submission, which is why I’m a little hesitant to read it! However I’m interested in it because of all of the drama about domestic discipline recently. The people who spank because of their religion and their belief women are incompetent really frustrate me!

      • Vile says:

        The Leticia posting was a mistake my bad, but I would like to make a couple of comments.
        BDSM is not about beating someone. Although there are those who do live such a lifestyle, not beating per say. In the lifestyle there are many levels , and we are all different, we all have different needs.
        It is Unfortunate that a new submissive or slave will meet a wanna be Dom, this is where the problems come in. and most of the time abuse as well. I am not sure what would drive someone to be so low, how ever it does happen.
        What about the Masochist or the Sadist is this type of relationship wrong ?

        Last one being submissive that does not make one less or weak. While it is true some do need structure in there life, again it does not mean they are weak, nor does it make one stupid.
        The abuse you speak of does happen, but I can tell you this, I have giving advice 100’s of times and there was one who listened, that was Butterfly it is on her blog, we exchanged private emails as well.
        Most of the time a submissive or slave does ask for advice when it comes to their first relationship. Do they listen? Nope one out of a hundred that is no lie.
        I have known friend who have been raped, beaten all because they were to anxious in hopes of finding the right one.
        Bdsm is not about abuse, but like I said it does happen, it happens in a DD relationship and Vanilla relationships as well. These men are ego driven, low self esteem, they are not even real men.
        No man has the right to hit a woman out of anger, that is no man. I do not care if he is a Dom or Master what ever he calls himself. One thing you will never hear me or see me type the word Master in front of my name. I am not ego driven, I have nothing to prove.

        Most of my blog is about abuse, I do not condone it in any way, shape or form.

        Every Submissive or Slave is different everyone has different needs. All relationships within the lifestyle are different.

        Our relationship is based on micromanagement , Does this make my wife stupid not at all, she is very intelligent, she has an awesome career, and makes very good money. In her personal life she has needs, and we work together as a team not as one.

        Keep up the good work. If you post anything on abuse I will reblog.
        Much Love
        Vile

      • Basia Rose says:

        “Every Submissive or Slave is different everyone has different needs. All relationships within the lifestyle are different.”

        This. I have just been reading some Christian blogs, and how they define submission. They’re not thinking about the individual; they’re all saying that a woman HAS to be a certain way because that’s what the bible says! There’re so many rules for the ‘right’ way to be submissive, and they use bible quotes to support their argument…
        There’s no room for individuality or different people’s needs.

      • Vile says:

        I would like a few of these links. I would like to comment on somethings. Grins.
        Women in this type of relationship do not know any different. Most were raised around the same type of relationship they are now in.
        I am not sure what they think.

Leave a Reply

